2011 NCMS Leadership College Scholars Announced

The NCMS and the NCMS Foundation are pleased to announce the scholars who have been selected for the NCMS Leadership College Class of 2011. Preparing to enter its ninth year, the Leadership College is an elite program that allows physicians to learn and develop important skills that can be utilized in organized medicine and in other leadership roles at the local, state and national levels.

We are pleased to present the following 2011 scholars:

Joanne Bell Allen, MD of Wrightsville Beach – Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation   (Sponsor: New Hanover-Pender County Medical Society)

Sheila G. Allison, MD of Durham – OB/GYN (Sponsor: Durham-Orange County Medical Society)

Debra Best, MD of Durham – Pediatrics (Sponsor: Durham-Orange County Medical Society)

Holly Biola, MD of Durham – Family Medicine & Preventive Medicine (Sponsor:  N.C. Academy of Preventive Medicine)

Cynthia J. Brown, MD, of Asheville – Pediatrics (Sponsor: Buncombe County Medical Society)

Craig Burkhart, MD of Chapel Hill – Dermatology (Sponsor:  N.C. Dermatology Association)

Patti Forest, MD of Durham – Family Medicine (Sponsor:  N.C. Academy of Family Physicians)  

Pankaj Gupta, MD, FACS of Cary – Otolaryngology (Sponsor: Triangle Indian-American Physicians Society)

Mark D. Gwynne,  DO of Chapel Hill – Primary Care (Sponsor: NCMSF Community Practitioner Program)

Carmelo A. Hernandez, MD of Brevard – OB/GYN  (Sponsor: Transylvania County Medical Society)

Frank Adams Hobart, MD of Wilmington – Cardiology (Sponsor: New Hanover-Pender County Medical Society)

Alfred Mina, MD of Lake Junaluska – General Surgery (Sponsor: Haywood Medical Society)

William L. Porfilio, MD of Burlington – Ophthalmology (Sponsor: N.C. Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons) 

Catherine Rees, MD of Winston-Salem – Otolaryngology (Sponsor: N.C. Society of Otolaryngology and Head & Neck Surgery)

Smita Sampat, MD of Roanoke Rapids – Internal Medicine (Sponsor: Halifax-Northampton County Medical Society)

Jessica Scott, MD, JD of Raleigh – Family Medicine (Sponsor: Coordinating Council of Societies)

Vipul Shah, MD of Cary – Internal Medicine Sponsor: Triangle Indian-American Physicians Society)

Stephen A. Szabo, MD of Pinehurst – OB/GYN (Sponsor: Moore County Medical Society)

Michael J. Thomas, MD of Raleigh – Endocrinology/Internal Medicine (Sponsor: Wake County Medical Society)

Paul Trani, MD of Hendersonville – Pediatrics (Sponsor: NCMSF Community Practitioner Program and Blue Ridge Community Health Services, Inc.)

Please join us as we welcome the new NCMS Leadership College class and congratulate the graduating class at the 2010 NCMS Annual Meeting in Winston-Salem, NC which will be held October 22-October 24, 2010. For information about the NCMS Leadership College, contact Richard W. Skinner at 1-800-722-1350 or [email protected].


Share this Post