2014 Award Winners Announced at Annual Meeting

Poster session award winners, (left to right: Julie Gauss, MD; Matthew Finneran, MD; Victoria Hudspeth, MD; Samaya Qureshi, MD) pictured with 2013-2014 NCMS President Devdutta Sangvai, MD, MBA (far right).

Poster session award winners, (left to right: Julie Gauss, MD; Matthew Finneran, MD; Victoria Hudspeth, MD; Samaya Qureshi, MD) pictured with 2013-2014 NCMS President Devdutta Sangvai, MD, MBA (far right).

Some of the awards given at the North Carolina Medical Society’s (NCMS) Annual Meeting last week were to those who are just beginning their careers in medicine, while the others marked career-long achievements.

The awards for the Scientific Poster Session, which began last year and was designed to highlight the great research and medical discovery happening in the medical schools across North Carolina, were presented to students, residents and fellows. There were 43 submissions from five medical schools. The award winners are:

Student Research:

  1. Dioval Remonde, Brody School of Medicine
  2. Andrew Huang, Wake Forest University
  3. Tie: Vanessa Dorismond and Jason Yan, both from Brody School of Medicine

Resident, Vignette

  1. Matthew Finneran, MD, Carolinas Medical Center
  2. Victoria Hudspeth, MD, Carolinas Medical Center
  3. Samaya Qureshi, MD, Cone Health

Resident, Research

  1. Christine Ahn, MD, Wake Forest
  2. Anthony Mozer, MD, Brody
  3. Julie Gauss, MD, Brody
Dr. Michael Brennan (podium) receives the E. Harvey Estes Award

Dr. Michael Brennan (podium) receives the E. Harvey Estes Award

The E. Harvey Estes, MD, Physician Community Service Award, given to a North Carolina physician who has compiled an outstanding record of community service,which apart from their specific identification as a physician, reflects well on the medical profession, was presented to Michael W. Brennan, MD.  Dr. Brennan, an ophthalmologist, has assisted his state and his nation most admirably and his service extends internationally. He often convenes meetings of other doctors at global events to discuss scope of practice issues and advocate for quality patient care.

Dr. Brennan attended West Point and after graduation was an aviator for the Army Intelligence Agency during the Vietnam War. After the war, he attended Stanford University’s aeronautics and astronautics master’s degree program, but realized aeronautics was not his calling and decided to attend medical school. After graduating from the University of Texas, San Antonio, he became chief of surgery at Fort Bragg, N.C., gaining experience as a comprehensive ophthalmologist. He retired from the army after 20 years to join an ophthalmology practice in Burlington, NC.

He has been instrumental in training future leaders as co-founder of the North Carolina Medical Society Foundation’s Leadership College.  As the Leaders

hip College’s co-founder, Dr. Elizabeth Kanof, once remarked: “Under Mike’s guidance and with his enthusiasm, future medical leaders in our county and state societies and communities are ensured.”

Huske Anderson Award winners

Huske Anderson Award winners Bob Wineburg (left) and Pastor Odell Cleveland (center) pictured with 2013-2014 NCMS President Devdutta Sangvai, MD, MBA.

The John Huske Anderson Award, given to a layperson whose contributions have had a positive impact on the medical profession and the public health, was presented to Pastor Odell Cleveland, Chief Administrative Officer at Mount Zion Baptist Church of Greensboro, and Robert “Bob” Wineburg, the Jefferson Pilot Excellence Professor of Social Work at the University of North Carolina, Greensboro.

They have been major influences behind the NCMS’ work on accountable care organizations and how social systems and the local faith community help to support health care for our most vulnerable citizens. They both were members of the workgroup, that produced the Accountable Care Guide for Community Health Partners, released earlier this month and available on the Toward Accountable Care (TAC) website.

As Grace Terrell, MD, CEO of Cornerstone Health Care in High Point, noted in her award nomination, “Their tireless work has provided a foundation for community health partnerships that will be critical to the success of value-driven health care.”

John R. Mangum, MD, former NCMS president and current president of The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME), presented the T. Reginald Harris, MD, Memorial Award on behalf of the CCME. This year’s recipient is Alan S. Baumgarten, MD, as a physician recognized for outstanding achievemet in the areas of health care quality and service tot he medical community. Dr. Baumgarten, a family physician in Asheville, has been a successful collaborator in Western North Carolina, drawing providers, care organizations, and hospitals together for the purpose of improving the quality of care in the region.

T. Reginald Harris Award Winner Alan Baumgarten, MD

T. Reginald Harris Award Winner Alan S. Baumgarten, MD




More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post