Announcing the 2013 Leadership College Scholars

The NCMS and its Foundation are pleased to announce the scholars who have been selected for the NCMS Leadership College Class of 2013. Preparing to enter its 11th year, the Leadership College is an elite program that allows physicians and physician assistants to excel as leaders within organized medicine, hospitals, health care systems, medical staffs, group practices, and in the public policy arena.

The North Carolina Medical Society Foundation is grateful to the following organizations and many others who have generously contributed to provide lasting support for physician leadership development, the NCMS Leadership College, and the Kanof Institute for Physician Leadership:
The North Carolina Medical Society, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina, Medical Mutual, UnitedHealth Foundation, MAG Mutual, Smith, Anderson, Carolinas HealthCare System, Community Care of North Carolina, NC Academy of Family Physicians, NC Dermatology Association, NC Neurological Society, NC Orthopaedic Association, NC Pediatric Society and UNC School of Medicine. These organizations have all given $25,000 or more to the Elizabeth P. Kanof, MD Leadership Development Endowment, which provides financial support for scholars.

 We are pleased to present the following 2013 scholars:

  • Molly Curtin Berkoff, MD, MPH, Pediatrics, nominated by the University of  North Carolina School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics
  • Margaret K. Burkhead, MD, Family Medicine, nominated by Raleigh Family Practice
  • Alisha Tomlinson DeTroye, MMS, PA-C, Physician Assistant, nominated by North Carolina Academy of Physician Assistants
  • Vandana P. Devalapalli, MD, Internal Medicine, nominated by Triangle Indian American Physicians (TIPS)
  • Jonathan Fischer, MD, Family Medicine, nominated by  Community Care of North Carolina
  • Amy W. Fox, MD, Dermatology, nominated by North Carolina Dermatology Association
  • Lawrence Greenblatt, MD, Internal Medicine, nominated by Community Care of North Carolina
  • Nancy S. Henley, MD, Internal Medicine, nominated by Durham-Orange County Medical Society
  • Perrin Jones, MD, Anesthesiology, nominated by North Carolina Society of Anesthesiologists
  • William W. Lawrence Jr., MD, Pediatrics, nominated by Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina
  • Richard C. Mather III, MD, Orthopaedics, nominated by North Carolina Orthopaedic Association
  • John J. Meier, IV, MBA, MD, Internal Medicine/Pediatrics, nominated by Wake Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
  • Eileen Raynor, MD, Otolaryngology, nominated by Duke Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
  • John Rusher, MD, Pediatrics, nominated by  North Carolina Pediatric Society
  • Amy Singleton, MD, Emergency Medicine/Psychiatry, nominated by North Carolina Psychiatric Association
  • Gregory Michael Swank, MD, Plastic Surgery, nominated by North Carolina Medical Society
  • John Walker, MD, Gastroenterology nominated by Cornerstone Health Care
  • Thomas R. White, MD, Family Medicine, nominated by  North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians
  • Jeffrey W. Wright, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology,  nominated by New Hanover/Pender County Medical Society
  • Adam M. Zanation, MD, Otolaryngology, nominated by North Carolina Society of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

Please join us as we welcome the 2013 NCMS Leadership College class and congratulate the 2012 graduating class at the NCMS Annual Meeting in Raleigh, NC, which will be held October 25-26, 2012. For information about the NCMS Leadership College, please visit or contact Pam Highsmith, NCMS Foundation Director of Development, at 800-722-1350 or [email protected].


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post