Cast Your Vote for NC Doctor of the Year


Ten finalists for the NC Doctor of the Year Award, were announced on Monday, March 16. Now is the time to cast your vote for the one doctor who you think should receive the NC Doctor of the Year Award from among this distinguished group of physicians who represent a variety of specialties and come from across the state. Read about each finalist and learn about NC Doctors Day at and cast your online vote. Encourage your friends and colleagues to do the same. The person with the most votes will be announced on Doctors Day, March 30. The North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) is the lead sponsor of NC Doctors Day and will donate $5,000 to the winner to be used toward furthering their professional mission.

The following finalists were selected from a field of over 120 nominations submitted by patients and colleagues in February.

Dr. Ogie Asemota, Pediatrics, Fayetteville

Dr. Alan Carlson, Opthalmalogy, Durham

Dr. Lisa David, Plastic Surgery, Winston-Salem

Dr. Edgardo Diez, Physical and Rehabilitative Medicine, Asheville

Dr. Ben Fischer, Internal Medicine, Raleigh

Dr. Gloria Graham, Dermatology, Morehead City

Dr. Mark Heffington, Family Medicine, New Bern

Dr. Rene Herlong, Pediatric Cardiology, Charlotte

Dr. Joseph Murad, OB-Gyn, Greenville

Dr. Maureen Murphy, Family Medicine, Concord


Share this Post



  • Marianne Hooper

    Wonderful, caring doctor!

  • Kathleen Kuntz, RN

    Working with Dr. Heffington at Merci clinic, I found him to be patient and available at all times. He was attentive to each and every patient and never complained of the smallest interruption. Thank you Doctor!