Kudos to NCMS’ Poster Contest Winners

The North Carolina Medical Society’s (NCMS) Third Annual Poster Competition, sponsored by Mag Mutual Insurance Company, brought a competitive field of medical students, residents and fellows from all the state’s medical schools to the Grandover Resort in Greensboro last weekend to share their research findings and vignettes. Special thanks goes to the chair of this year’s competition, Dawn Brezina, MD, an internist at Duke Regional Hospital, as well as the poster contest judges.

The 2015 winners in each category are:


1st place: Amber Kuk, MD for Telema Nga, MD (ECU) – Diastrophic Dysplasia: A Rare Disorder and a Rare Association

2nd place: Inga Aikman, MD, MPH (ECU) – Quality Improvement: Using Laptop Computers to Reduce Time to Note Completion in a Pediatric Resident Continuity Clinic

3rd place: Khaldoon Al-Moosavi, MD, MPH (UNC) – Turner Syndrome and Sleep Disordered Breathing


1st place, Vignette: Siena Ona, MD (ECU) – Rehabilitation Course of a Long Term Survivor of Glioblastoma Multiforme after a Poliovirus Trial, A Case Report

2nd place, Vignette: Hortensia Beng, MD (ECU) – Lipoprotein Glomerulopathy

3rd place, Vignette: Ankit Patel, MD (ECU) – Spontaneous Galactorrhea Status Post Spinal Cord Injury: A Case Report

1st place, Research: Santoshi Billakota, MD (Duke) – Continuous EEG Monitoring in Non-ICU Hospitalized Patients


1st place, Research: Kelley Boyd, BS (ECU) – Relationship between Diabetes-Related Distress and Glycemic Control in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes

2nd place, Research: Sophie Austin (ECU) – Oral Hygiene Status of a Sample of Residents from Nursing Homes in North Carolina

3rd place, Research: Audrey Lan (UNC) – Assessing the Feasibility of Creating a Healthcare System Tetraology of Fallot Patient Registry

1st place, Vignette: James Crisp for Hannah Briet (Wake Forest) – Case Report: Copper Deficiency Myelopathy from Excessive Zinc Ingestion

2nd place, Vignette: Nielsen Fullmer, for Chaseton M. Nielsen (Campbell) – A Pathologist’s Approach to a Lung Tumor

Congratulations to the winners, and thank you to all the talented medical students, residents and fellows who participated.


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post