NC Orthopaedic Association Elects New Officers at 2009 Annual Meeting

The NC Orthopaedic Association held its 2009 annual meeting over the September 25-27 weekend. The program included a number of featured speakers and guests, including Senator Richard Burr, Olympic Gold Medalist Dan Jansen, and AMA Board of Trustees member Dr. Bill Hazel.  This year’s key note speaker was Dr. Ken Yamaguchi from Washington University in St. Louis who spoke on Rotator Cuff Disease.

Highlighting the meeting was the presentation of the annual Honored Surgeon Award.  The 2009 recipient was Dr. Charles Classen of Kinston, NC.  The Honored Surgeon Award recognizes a North Carolina orthopaedic surgeon who has been notably influential in the promotion of the highest standards of orthopaedic care and has distinguished himself/herself among his/her peers for dedication to quality patient care and to the medical profession.
2009-2010 NCOA officers elected at the meeting were:

President:  Frank Aluisio, MD / Greensboro

President Elect: Bill de Araujo, MD / Goldsboro

Vice President:  Ed Lilly, MD / Hendersonville

Secretary-Treasurer: Clay Thomason, MD / Gastonia

Recording Secretary: Mike Bolognese, MD / Durham


Share this Post