NCMS Honors Health Care Leaders at Annual Meeting

Three health care leaders received NCMS awards during the Inauguration Ceremony at the 2011 NCMS Annual Meeting in Raleigh on October 22, 2011.

Phillip Sellers, MD, received the E. Harvey Estes, Jr., MD, Physician Community Service Award for his outstanding leadership in medicine and compassionate care for the people in the Hendersonville community. He earned his medical degree from Wake Forest University School of Medicine (formerly Bowman-Gray).

Charles J. Riddick, Chief Executive Officer of The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCMS) received the 2011 John Huske Anderson Award for his positive impact on the medical profession and the public health in North Carolina. Mr. Riddick has served as CEO of CCME since 1983.

William E. Thornton, MD, received the NCMS Presidential Award for his accomplishments in medicine, space exploration and education. Dr. Thorton was the first astronaut from North Carolina, having been born and raised in Faison. He received his medical degreeĀ from the UNC-CH School of Medicine.


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post