NCMS Members Are Leaders

Several recent announcements highlight once again the accomplishments of many of our North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) members and the leadership positions they hold.

Dr. Dev Sangvai

Dr. Dev Sangvai

Former NCMS President and Leadership College alumnus Dev Sangvai, MD, recently was named to a two-year term as vice-chair of The Joint Commission’s Ambulatory Care Professional and Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC). The Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.

Dr. Sangvai, a family physician, is Executive Director of Duke Connected Care, Duke’s accountable care organization, and medical director of DukeWELL, a population health program for Duke Employees and dependents. His administrative duties include serving as associate chief medical officer for Duke University Health System.

Governor Pat McCrory also just appointed Dr. Sangvai to serve on the North Carolina Medical Care Commission. The Governor also reappointed former NCMS President John Fagg, MD, of Forsyth County, who serves as chair of the Commission. Gov. McCrory also appointed longtime NCMS member Robert Alphin, MD, a Raleigh anesthesiologist, to the Commission. The Medical Care Commission is charged with adopting, recommending or rescinding rules for regulation of most health care facilities and administering the Health Care Facilities Finance Act. This enables the Commission to issue tax-exempt revenue bonds to finance construction and equipment projects for nonprofit and public hospitals, nursing homes, continuing care facilities for the elderly and facilities related to the foregoing.


Share this Post