North Carolina HIT Strategic Planning Task Force Named

Reported by NCHICA
Governor Perdue has established the North Carolina HIT Strategic Planning Task Force within the NC Recovery Office ( “to engage key stakeholders to start work immediately to develop a plan by mid-May 2009 when the federal regulations regarding application for these HIT funds is expected to be published.” It is expected that the Task Force will develop a comprehensive HIT plan to guide policy and prioritize funding decisions. Below is a list of current Task Force members:

  • Chair: Steve Cline, DDS, MPH, NC Division of Public Health
  • Asif Ahmad, MBA, Duke University Health System & Duke University Medical Center
  • Ben Alexander, MD, WakeMed Health and Hospitals
  • Holt Anderson, NCHICA
  • Phil Brown, NC Consumer Advisory Council on Health Information
  • Hadley Calloway, MD, Raleigh Orthopedic Clinic
  • Tim Carey, MD, MPH, Sheps Center & UNC School of Public Health
  • Sam Cykert, MD, Moses Cone Hospital and Area Health Education Center System
  • Allen Dobson, MD, FAAFP, Carolinas Health System & Cabarrus Family Medicine
  • Laura Gerald, MD, MPH, Community Care of North Carolina
  • Stuart James, MBA, CHE, University Health Systems of Eastern North Carolina
  • Arlo Jennings, PhD, Mission Hospitals
  • Jill Moore, JD, MPH, UNC School of Government
  • Harry Reynolds, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of NC
  • Kevin Schulman, MD, The Fuqua School of Medicine, Duke University
  • Samuel Spicer, MD, New Hanover Regional Medical Center
  • John Tote, Mental Health Association in North Carolina, Inc.

Subject Matter Experts and Resource Individuals:

  • Jennifer Anderson, MHSA, PMP, The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence
  • Clyde Brooks, MD, East Carolina University
  • Janis Curtis, Duke University Health System
  • Larrie Dawkins, CMPE, Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
  • Mike Fenton, NC Office of Information Technology Services
  • Jim Hazelrigs, North Carolina Division of Medical Assistance
  • Donald Horton, JD, Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings
  • Lisa Haire, DHHS Mental Health
  • Rebecca Kitzmiller, MHR, MSN, Duke University Health System
  • Denny McGuire, NC Office of Information Technology Services
  • Mona Moon, North Carolina State Health Plan
  • Angie Sligh, NC Office of MMIS Services
  • David Stratton,Capital Care Collaborative
  • Andrew Weniger, CPA, NCHICA
  • Billy Willis, NC Office of Information Technology Services


  • Sandra Trivett, MPA, Office of the Secretary, NC DHHS
  • Jim L. Williams, Office of the Secretary, NC DHHS


  • John Dervin, Office of the Governor
  • Allen Feezor, DHHS
  • John Frank, Kate B. Reynolds Charitable Trust
  • Dan Gitterman, Office of the Governor
  • Kathy Higgins, The Blue Cross Blue Shield Foundation of North Carolina
  • Daphne Lyon, NC Office of Economic Recovery and Investment
  • Mary Piepenbring, The Duke Endowment
  • Vandana Shah, Health and Wellness Trust Fund
  • Jonathan Wormer, NC Office of State Budget and Management
  • Golden Leaf Foundation representative

More Posts in Topics Discussed


Share this Post