Physicians Honored During 2010 Annual Meeting

The NCMS’ prestigious E. Harvey Estes, MD, Physician Community Service Award was given to Evelyn Schmidt, MD, the long-time Director of Lincoln Community Health Center in Durham. Dr. Schmidt was recognized as a pioneer in providing access to high quality health and medical care and making it readily available to generations of Durham County residents who might otherwise have faced great obstacles in obtaining access.  Due to an unexpected illness, NCMS Past President Richard F. Bruch, MD, accepted the award on Dr. Schmidt’s behalf. In a letter supporting Dr. Schmidt’s nomination for the award, Dr. Bruch wrote that “it’s hard to match Dr. Schmidt’s energy level; it is really high…and she has maintained the same high energy effort at work during her six-decade medical career.”

John D. Butts, Jr., MD, was the recipient of one of two Presidential Awards presented during the NCMS Annual Meeting’s Inauguration Ceremony. Dr. Butts was recognized for his 23 years of service as Chief Medical Examiner for the State of North Carolina, and for his commitment to the medical profession and to ensuring that instruction in medico-legal death investigation was available to both medical and lay audiences. Dr. Butts retired in July. He was nominated for the award by former State Health Director Ron Levine, MD, and NCMS Past President Elizabeth Kanof, MD.  The Presidential Award is given from time-to-time to recognize individuals for their unique contributions to the community of medicine or to organized medicine.

The second Presidential Award was presented to state Representative Bobby England, MD, (D, 112th District).  Rep. England was recognized for his outstanding service as a physician, legislator and champion for education and health care. He was first elected to the NC House in 2003 and will retire this year after completing his fourth term. He began practicing family medicine in 1963 in Forest City and Rutherford County, where he also served 20 years on the Rutherford County School Board and continues to serve on the Board of Trustees of Isothermal Community College.


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post