Announcing the 2014 Leadership College Scholars

The NCMS and its Foundation are pleased to announce the scholars who have been selected for the NCMS Leadership College Class of 2014. Preparing to enter its 12th year, the Leadership College is an elite program that allows physicians and physician assistants to excel as leaders within organized medicine, hospitals, health care systems, medical staffs, group practices, and in the public policy arena.

The North Carolina Medical Society Foundation is grateful to the following organizations and many others who have generously contributed to provide lasting support for physician leadership development, the NCMS Leadership College, and the Kanof Institute for Physician Leadership:

The North Carolina Medical Society, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina, Medical Mutual, UnitedHealth Foundation, MAG Mutual, Smith, Anderson, Carolinas HealthCare System, Community Care of North Carolina, NC Academy of Family Physicians, NC Dermatology Association, NC Neurological Society, NC Orthopedic Association, NC Pediatric Society and UNC School of Medicine. These organizations have all given $25,000 or more to the Elizabeth P. Kanof, MD Leadership Development Endowment, which provides financial support for the program.

We are pleased to present the following 2014 scholars:

  • Lloyd L. Bridges, MD, Family Medicine, nominated by Mecklenburg County Medical Society
  • Sandya T. Cohen, MD, Ophthalmology, nominated by  North Carolina Society of Eye Physicians & Surgeons
  • Tracy L. Eskra, MD, MBA, Internal Medicine, nominated by Vidant Medical Center
  • Tamieka Howell, MD, Family Medicine, nominated by North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians
  • Ellen Huffman-Zechman, MD, General Practice, nominated by Craven-Pamlico-Jones Medical Society
  • Susan C. Ireton, PA-C, ATC-L, Administrative Medicine, nominated by Cone Health
  • Ashok C. Jain, MD, FAAP, MBA, Pediatrics, nominated by North Carolina Pediatric Society
  • Lyndon K. Jordan, MD, Radiology, nominated by Wake Radiology Consultants, PA
  • Kunal Mitra, MD, MBA, Pediatrics, nominated by Durham-Orange County Medical Society
  • Christopher R. Myers, MD, Adult Psychiatry, nominated by North Carolina Psychiatric Association
  • Michael A. Nichols, MD, PhD, Radiation Oncology, nominated by New Hanover-Pender County Medical Society
  • Maeve E. O’Connor, MD, FACAAI, FAAAAI, Allergy & Immunology, nominated by Mecklenburg County Medical Society
  • Susan C. Sanders, MD, Dermatology, nominated by North Carolina Dermatology Association
  • Simon V. Ward, III, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology, nominated by Mecklenburg County Medical Society
  • R.W. “Chip” Watkins, MD, MPH, Family Medicine, nominated by Community Care of North Carolina
  • Rufus D. Williams, Jr., MPAS, PA-C, Hospitalist, nominated by Goldsboro Emergency Medical Specialist
  • Katherine M. Varman, MD, Dermatology, nominated by Durham-Orange County Medical Society

Please join us as we welcome the 2014 NCMS Leadership College class and congratulate the 2013 graduating class at the NCMS Annual Meeting in Raleigh, NC, which will be held October 25-26, 2013. For information about the NCMS Leadership College, please visit or contact Pam Highsmith, NCMS Foundation Director of Development, at 800-722-1350 or [email protected].


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post