Dr. James Jones Receives 2010 Harris Award

The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME) presented the 2010 T. Reginald Harris, MD, Memorial Award to James G. Jones, MD, at the NCMS Annual Meeting in Winston-Salem on October 23.  Dr. Jones was recognized for having spent his career advancing the quality of care in North Carolina.  The award is named in honor of the life and memory of Dr. Harris, one of CCME’s founding members and Past President of the NCMS.

“Dr. Harris would be honored for Dr. Jones to receive the 2010 Harris Memorial Award,” said Janelle Rhyne, MD, who nominated Dr. Jones for the Award. “A longtime champion of access, Dr. Jones chaired the Demonstration Project of the State Medicaid Program to improve access for Medicaid recipients and to save money.”

In 1995, Dr. Jones was appointed by Governor James Hunt to direct all health planning activity for North Carolina. He served as the executive director of the NC Health Care Reform Commission and served on the board of directors of the NC Center for Public Policy Research, NC Foundation for Advanced Health Program, and Cape Fear HealthNet. In 1990, Dr. Jones established the James G. Jones, MD, Student Scholarship Program at the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation to demonstrate his continuing commitment to the education of medical students.

Dr. Jones received his medical degree from Bowman Gray School of Medicine (Wake Forest) and currently serves as the medical director for Access III of the Lower Cape Fear. READ MORE about Dr. Jones’ accomplishments in a news release from CCME.


More Posts in Annual Meeting


Share this Post