Subcommittee on Pharma Liability Holds Final Meeting

Earlier this year the North Carolina Senate’s Judiciary I Committee appointed a subcommittee to discuss potential changes to the state’s laws regarding pharmaceutical manufacturer liability. Senator Thom Goolsby (R – New Hanover) chaired three meetings of this subcommittee, with the final meeting taking place earlier this week.

As in past meetings, members of the subcommittee heard testimony from stakeholders on both sides of the debate this week:

  • Roland Larino, Finance Director, GlaxoSmithKlein
  • Kim Wilson, Lewis & Roberts
  • Mary Bethel, AARP Associate State Director for Advocacy
  • Paul Schmidt, Covington & Burling, LLP
  • Eddie Kirby, Civil Chief, NCDOJ Medicaid Investigations Unit
  • Doug Kenyon, Hunton & Williams
  • Kevin Anderson, Chief, NCDOJ Consumer Protection Division
  • Burton Craig, Legal Affairs Counsel, NC Advocates for Justice

No action was taken by the subcommittee at this meeting. You can find all of the past agendas and handouts from the subcommittee’s proceedings by visiting the NCGA website here.


Share this Post